The Fire Horse Girl

Author(s): Kay Honeyman

Young Adult

A fiery and romantic adventure, perfect for fans of Grace Lin, Kristen Cashore, or Lisa See!
Jade Moon is a Fire Horse -- the worst sign in the Chinese zodiac for girls, said to make them stubborn, willful, and far too imaginative. But while her family despairs of marrying her off, she has a passionate heart and powerful dreams, and wants only to find a way to make them come true.
Then a young man named Sterling Promise comes to their village to offer Jade Moon and her father a chance to go to America. While Sterling Promise's smooth manners couldn't be more different from her own impulsive nature, Jade Moon falls in love with him on the long voyage. But America in 1923 doesn't want to admit many Chinese, and when they are detained at Angel Island, the "Ellis Island of the West," she discovers a betrayal that destroys all her dreams. To get into America, much less survive there, Jade Moon will have to use all her stubbornness and will to break a new path . . . one as brave and dangerous as only a Fire Horse girl can imagine.

$24.99(AUD)

Available Stock:
0

Order this Item


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

Kay Honeyman became fascinated with the topic of Chinese immigration after she and her husband adopted a son from China in 2009. THE FIRE HORSE GIRL is her first novel. Kay teaches eighth-grade English in Dallas, Texas, where she lives with her family. Please visit her website at www.kayhoneyman.com.

General Fields

  • : 9780545403108
  • : Scholastic US
  • : Scholastic US
  • : February 2013
  • : 211mm X 135mm X 33mm
  • : United States
  • : March 2013
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : 336
  • : Kay Honeyman
  • : Hardback